We'd like to show you notifications for the latest news and updates.

No thanks

These Players proud India in Olympic Games: List of 10 Olympic players in India with their game played.

People all over the country keep interested and eyes to any International event that Indian players take part in. They even become engaged in the joy and time to time the people also come forward to help the team, to help the nation.

Yes, it was the people’s love that Indian first ever a hockey team could go for their first tour. Yes, it is their love that Indian player brings fame for the nation. In International Games arena, at present India is a big name sparkling in the sky.

Indian players always make the whole nation happy and gift the nation a new chance to cherish and enjoy.

Today, we are going to list 10 Indian players who made the India proud in their Olympic Games.

1. K D Jadav
The first Indian wrestler, who won a bronze medal in the Olympic of 1952. Due to being short height and lean physique, he was often been mocked by his school friends and teachers. But he fought with much bigger in size wrestlers and defeated them. He was born in Goleshwar. The people of Goleshwar took pride of his winning medal in wrestling and built five rings interlock Olympic sculpture in a public square.

olympic winner KD jadhav


2. Norman Pritchard
Norman Pritchard is the first Indian athlete who won an Olympic medal in 1900 at Paris Olympic. He won two silver medals. Though he participated in the 110 meters hurdle, he could not finish. He also participated in the 60 meters and as well as 100-meter sprints, but could not qualify the finals. He was also known by his stage name Norman Trevor. In 1905 he moved to Great Britain permanently and later, he moved to the USA to work in Hollywood.


3. Jaipal Singh
Jaipal Singh offered to be the captain of Indian Hockey Team for the 1928 Olympic Games when he was a student of Oxford. Under his captaincy, the team played superbly. India defeated Holland by 3-0 to win the final. His super skill and tactics in hockey and brilliant captaincy lead India to win the final. He won a Gold medal in that Olympic, making all Indian proud. 

olympic winner jaipal singh

4. LalBokhari
In 1932 LalBokhari was the captain of the Indian hockey team.  India won the gold medal at the Los Angeles Olympics. He was, in fact, a super talented. It is who made whole India proud of him because he is the upholder for Indian Hockey Team during the golden period of Indian Hockey Team.

5. Leander Paes
Leander Paes won a bronze medal for India in Tennis singles in the 1996 Atlanta Olympic Games. He appeared in consecutive Olympic Games from 1992 to 2016. He also received the Rajiv Gandhi KhelRatna award in 1996-97, Arjuna award in 1990, the Padma Shiri award in 2001, and the Padma PadmaBhushan award in 2014 for his magnificent talents in tennis.

olympic winners list india

6. Dhyan Chand
Dhyan Chand is one of the greatest Hockey players in the world. From 1926-1948, he scored over 400 goals in his career. It was Dhyan Chand who contributed India tremendously to win the first ever Olympic medal in the history of Hockey. He also achieved a gold medal in 1936 Olympic.

Dhyan chand olympic winner

Let’s see the gold medals winner for Indian Hockey Team in Olympic:






Jaipal Singh









Kishan Lal



K.D. Singh



Balbir Singh Sr



Leslie Claudius



Charanjit Singh



Gurbux Singh



Harmeek Singh



Vasudevan Bhaskaran


7. Vijender Singh
In 2008 Vijender guaranteed a Maiden medal on boxing to India, by making to the semifinals of the middleweight category at the Beijing Olympics. Although he lost the semis, he did come home with bronze and was rightfully rendered a grand reception. During 29 June 2015, Singh said goodbye to his amateur career and welcomed a professional one by signing a multiyear contract with Queensberry promotions through IOS sports and entertainment. However, this leads to him getting excluded from the 2016 Olympics, as he no longer remained substandard.

olympic winner vijender singh

8. Sushil Kumar 
Kumar is now the only Indian who has successfully attained 2 individual Olympic medals. In 2010 he won the world title by competing in the 66kg weight division. He also made outstanding victories by winning a silver medal at the 2012 London Olympics and a bronze medal at the 2008 Beijing Olympics; which was second for India in wrestling.

list of olympic winners

9. Saina Nehwal
After Prakash Padukone, the first Indian woman to become world no. 1 badminton player in Saina Nehwal. She secured her place as the first Indian to win a medal in Olympics badminton on 4 August 2012 by winning the bronze medal.

saina nehwal

10. Mary Kom
Greeting from the Kom tribe in Manipur, Mary Kom is the only woman boxer who has won all 6 of the world championships. By competing in the flyweight (51 kg) category and winning the bronze medal, she proved herself qualified as the only Indian boxer for the 2012 Summer Olympics.

Mary Kom as olympic winner

Lastly, it can be said that India is always at the top in the world with the greatest performance in games and sports because the supports by the nation are immense.They play for the people of the nation, they play to uphold the name of India.


Related Items

Most Viewed

Load More