We'd like to show you notifications for the latest news and updates.

No thanks

Have a look at the list of cricket world cup winners so far

We have compiled for you a list of winners of cricket World Cup over years as the World Cup is on and trending. As teams battle out in England for the crown of cricket, let us look back at the winners of cricket world cup from the beginning of time. Since it’s inception in England in the 16th century, cricket has incessantly been popularised to be one of the most followed sports in the world. In some nations including the Asian countries like India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, cricket is not just a game but a wave that subsumes every heart. In these nations, cricket gets larger than life and in India, it would not be inappropriate to say that cricket is not just a game but a religion. The World Cup has always been and will always be the most competitive and the most exciting celebration of One Day Cricket. With the ongoing World Cup in England and Wales trending, let us recall all the World Cups down the memory lane and celebrate once again all those ravishing moments from the history of cricket World Cup.

1975: West Indies 

this was the maiden edition of the World Cup and the treacherous West Indies were the favourites by all means to lift the cup and that is exactly what happened. England was the host nation but it was Australia that made it to the finals along with West Indies. 

west indies won world cup in 1975

1979: West Indies

West Indies successfully defended both, its title and its reputation of being merciless. Once again it was England as the Host country and England is only team taht could only finish as the runners up. 

cricket world cub won by west indies in 1979

1983: India 

This World Cup will always remain special and one of the most extraordinary as India toppled the mighty West Indies. Defending a mere 183, Kapil Dev and his men sprung a surprise and this marked India’s first ever World Cup title win. After that India had to wait for 28 long years to lift the World Cup again. 

india won first cricket world cup in 1983

1987: Australia 

Aussies met their arch-rivals England in the finals of the 1987 World Cup hosted by India and Pakistan. This was Australia’s maiden title win and after that, there was no looking back literally.

Australia first winning world cup in 1987

1992: Pakistan 

The new Prime Minister of Pakistan(Mr. Imran Khan) was the then captain of the team which represented Pakistan in the 1992 World Cup. Once again England was made to bite the dust in the all crucial finals. 

Pakistan won cricket world cup in 1992

1996: Sri Lanka 

This time it was Asia which became the host to the mega event of cricket. Taking advantage of the subcontinent conditions, Sri Lanka lifted its first title as Sanath Jayasuriya pioneered the Sri Lankan assault on all opponents. In the finals of the tournament, Sri Lanka again proved to be too good for the Aussies. 

sri lanka's first cricket world cup

1999: Australia

The Kangaroos were on the top of their game and defeated Pakistan in the finals of the World Cup hosted primarily by England to lift the World Cup for the second time. While Lance Klusener was awarded the man of the tournament award, Rahul Dravid ended up scoring the most runs by a batsman in the 1999 World Cup. 

 Australia won world cup in 1999

2003: Australia 

Australia got the better of India in the finals of the 2003 World Cup and India’s dream was shattered yet again. It was the African continent that became the host to this gala affair of cricket this time around. Australia was at its best and outsmarted all opponents with ease in their run to the title. India was very impressive throughout the Tournament but on the day of the finals, Australia edged past.

Australia won cricket world cup in 2003

2007: Australia 

Australia has the great responsibility to defend its title and Australia was impeccable in their task. This time it was the Caribbean zest to the World Cup and Sri Lanka was handed over a defeat by Australia in the finals which lifted its fourth World Cup title. Once again Ricky Ponting was at the helm of things. Unfortunately for India, they couldn’t even clear the league stage and that brought a major embarrassment to Rahul Dravid and his men.

Australia won cricket world cup in 2007

2011: India 

India became the host to the World Cup in 2011 and team India made sure that the World Cup stays in India itself. After a massive World Cup drought post-1983, India lifted the World Cup after defeating Sri Lanka in the finals at Mumbai. It was the then Indian captain, MS Dhoni who was stunning in a nail-biting chase. Yuvraj Singh was adjudged the man of the tournament for his vital contributions both with the bat and ball. 

team india won cricket world cup in second time in 20111

2015: Australia

India felt the pressure of defending the title away from home and India certainly succumbed to that pressure facing eviction in the semifinals. Australia made its way to its fifth World Cup title after it got the better of a strong New Zealand side in the finals. Australia and New Zealand co-hosted the 2015 edition of the humongous cricket platform. It was a Starc storm that most batsmen couldn’t stand as Michell Starc bagged the player of the tournament award for his heroics with the ball.

Australia on top and winner of cricket world cup

Let us see who is winning it in 2019!


Related Items

Most Viewed

Load More